25 Feb 2015

Opportunity: The Financial TImes/Oppenheimer Emerging Voices Award.

Another opportunity for young creative writers, filmmakers and mixed media artist, The Financial Times in collaboration with the Oppeheimer Fund has created the Emerging Voices Award. In it's inaugural year, the award will recognise the best young writers, filmmakers and mixed media artists. According to the bodies in charge of the Award, it is to encourage talent and creators in emerging/developing countries and the contributions they make to global art. Here's a blurb from their manifesto.

"There is a remarkable structural shift in the world, propelled by economic progress in the developing markets and the advanced reach of the Internet. More connectivity and greater variety of voices in the business, science and arts communities are leading to a new renaissance. The Financial Times and OppenheimerFunds are delighted to provide a platform to recognise the people contributing to these markets."
The winner in each category will be awarded $40,000, a ridiculous sum when you consider that the Caine Prize awards $10,000 to the winner. Plus the awards are specificially geared towards amateur or unestablished creatives. Sadly, for whatever reason, Each prize is targeted towards specific continents and exempted from others. Africa and the Middle East has the writing competition, South America and the Caribbean has mixed media and Asia has Film making.

The judges aim to reward those in each of the eligible art forms whose work shows outstanding talent and in some way furthers understanding of their region.

The longlist for each category will be announced on 5 June 2015. This will be followed by the announcement of three finalists on 7 August 2015 who will be invited to attend an awards ceremony in New York on 5 October 2015 where category winners will be announced. 

The winner in each category will receive a prize award of $40,000 and will also be featured in a post event magazine and videos profiled on ft.com, the Financial Times Website. 

Here are the criteria for entering for writers.

The Fiction Award will be presented to the author of a published work of fiction (‘Book’) in English or published in English translation. The book must be a minimum of 20,000 words long and be written by a national or passport holder of one of the eligible countries of Africa and the Middle East. Submissions are invited from all publishers worldwide (‘Publishers’). Self-published works will not be accepted for entry. The works must be published for the first time between 1 January, 2014 and 30 September 2015. Books may be in print or digital form, or both.

The winning author will receive an award of $40,000 (the “Prize”). A longlist will be announced on 5 June, 2015. This will be followed by the announcement of three finalists on 7 August, who will be invited to attend an awards ceremony in New York on 5 October, 2015 at which the winner will be announced (the “Awards Ceremony”).



1. The Competition is open to authors who are legal residents or passport holders of any African and the Middle East country listed here, and who are 18 years of age or older at the time of entry. 

2. There is no limit to the number of Books per author a Publisher may submit, providing they adhere to the rules. 

3. An author may not enter the Competition if he or she is an employee, contractor, or immediate family member of any employee or contractor of The Financial Times Limited (“FT”) or OppenheimerFunds Inc. (“OFI”), or their associated companies.

4. To enter the Competition on behalf of an author, a Publisher must:

   a.     submit a Book which has been published for the first time between 1 January 2014 and 30 September 2015. Books may be in print or digital form, or both;

   b.    if a Book is in proof, it should be bound and accompanied by a jacket rough and author’s biography;

   c.     make submissions online and send one copy of each Book submitted to the address below by no later than 5pm British Summer Times on Friday, 30 April. FT and OFI can not accept responsibility for   Books lost or delayed in submission. Proof of submission is not a proof of receipt.

   d.    ensure that each Book submitted is clearly labeled. Books cannot be returned;

   e.     provide a further fifteen copies of any Book selected for the longlist, for administrative and publicity purposes;

   f.     provide any relevant information relating to any Book as requested by FT;

   g.    ensure that all Books entered are original; complete (I.e. not a fragment of a larger work); of your own sole creation; not offensive, defamatory or otherwise unlawful; do not infringe the intellectual property rights or any other rights of any third party;

   h.     submit your entry online by no later than April 30 2015 (“Closing Date”);

   i.      make its best efforts to guarantee the author’s attendance at the Award Ceremony and to cover their  associated expenses (with the exception of the author’s reasonable travel and accommodation for which the Award organisers will take responsibility), if the submitted Book is a selected for the final; and
   j.      ensure that finalists or the winning author make their best efforts to promote the author’s own Book and this Award. These might include writing an article for the FT’s Comment pages or website (www.ft.com), or providing a pre-agreed extract from the Book for publication in the FT, or participating  in a video interview to discuss the award to be broadcast on FT.com

Good luck people!

No comments:

Post a Comment